The World is Not Ours

Science. It’s so very important.

leave a comment »

Image

Just a quick shout-out to the awesome photographer who risked everything getting that shot. Me. Eh. Gotta self promote sometimes.

Science though. It makes me mad when I think of how dismal science and math education is in our country. Seriously we are so far behind the rest of the world that they pretty much just laugh at us. The problem lies within a number of things, with religion somewhere in the mix as well. Now I will try not to bash on religion too much, as I’m going through some form of metaphysical change of sorts. Not religious in nature, but more nature in nature. Anyway, back to education. So I believe that the reason why we aren’t so great at the sciences is because we aren’t making the youth interested. Or perhaps we aren’t trying as hard as before, rather giving way to apathy through television. I used to be enamored by the prospect of going to space as a child. Now of course, I just get angry at congress for not giving NASA more funding, but that’s a completely different tangent. Point is, if you ask children today what they want to do the most, they will most likely respond with something along the lines of watching television or something. Don’t get me wrong, I watch my fair share of shows, but I do much more, and I believe in my ability to do greater things through the advancement of science. Some people will say that we are fine where we are, after all, how else are these advances in medicine and etc., being made? Well, those advances are being made by people who enjoyed the sciences and maths as much as I do still. Unfortunately those people will probably die in under a century, which will pave the way for the next generation of people to innovate. Problem is, that next generation isn’t the innovative type. Yes, there are a select few who are amazing (see Intel ISEF every year) but the vast majority are complete blithering idiots. Fossil fuels are NOT the answer. Nuclear energy is NOT going to kill us all. Creationism is NOT a valid ‘theory.’ The era of going to space is NOT over. You CAN do something about all of this and more! Innovate for innovating’s sake.

Sorry, I do get caught up in things like that. Back to my personal changes, I have typically considered myself a very peaceful person, mostly because I don’t let matters affect me greatly. Unfortunately, I have not had time to stay at peace with myself in this last year or so, and that means that I have to find peace within myself again. This will require quite a bit of effort to release the pent up tensions within myself. Which for me, the best way to do that is to become one with nature itself, and while that may sound incredibly silly to most of you, I will be doing just that. It’s really not silly, it’s more of a matter of getting in touch with the beauty of everything around us. Simply writing this is making me smile as I remember all the great things about my old peaceful self. One of my greatest hurdles was my house burning down seven years ago, because the house that I used to live in was alive and thriving with everything around it. There was this pure energy that flowed from my house brightening all its surroundings. After it was gone, I would often walk around aimlessly through the woods and such near it, trying to find myself one with nature again, and luckily it wasn’t so hard, because nature can be very comforting when you need it to be such. That was simply something I had to get over, and it really didn’t take too long. But that was perhaps easy because I still was at peace with myself at the time. Now I must reconnect with my inner self on a different level, something I have not done in quite a while. And honestly, the winter is a terrible time to make such a journey because I really am not a fan of the freezing temperatures, so I’ll probably postpone the journey till spring.

This got to be longer than I thought it was going to be, mostly because of that final tangent I went on… Anyway, here’s your song of the day: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IoO06dGedxQ

Written by Kish

February 10, 2014 at 11:39 pm

Leave a Reply

