The World is Not Ours

Thoughts on a Dreary Day

leave a comment »

ImageSo first off, I want to say that I probably could have taken a better picture, but I like it, as it’s my view from one of my windows. And it’s a golf course covered in snow. Doesn’t get better than that. But with that in mind, it’s been a rather dreary day, as I’ve confined myself to my house, due to me not wanting to spread whatever it is that I am sick with (not sure if it is contagious, but no need to take the risk).

That does give me time to think. So here I shall convey my thoughts on religion, as I often seem to do on this blog…

I’ll start by merely saying that I respect all religions equally, despite them not respecting each other. I don’t quite understand what it is about religion that makes it more alluring than the pursuit of knowledge. So my basic understanding of following a religion is that it gives you purpose in life, and that it supposedly answers those questions to which there is not an answer to currently. Questions such as how did life come about.
Well, I feel that those two things, purpose and answering unanswered questions, can be for the most part attained by the pursuit of knowledge. I have a slight bias towards the sciences as I consider them to be awesome, but hey, any knowledge is good knowledge. So why is it that you follow your religion, because if it is at your belief’s core not one of the two things I mentioned, I clearly haven’t given it much thought, and I would like to do so.

Right, so here are my ending thoughts: a bit of a sidebar actually, but I just got super annoyed by my mother again. I feel like being superstitious is grounds for ridicule. But I respect my mother enough to not tell her that she’s wrong. She thinks that spending too much time on a computer/cell phone can lead to cancer because of some silly chain e-mail. Stupid, I know. I do realize that spending too much time in front of a computer is detrimental to your general well being, and I don’t spend that much time in front of one when I’m not sick. But it doesn’t cause cancer. That’s simply ridiculous. Annoyances aside, these are my thoughts, and now I will leave you with one of the greatest playlists of all time (it’s precisely 5 hours and 40 minutes of amazing instrumental music): http://8tracks.com/jonomcdono/ze-compiled-study-mix 
A few notable songs from it: He Films the Clouds pt. 2 by Maybeshewill, Shifting Sands Wreck Ships by Lights Out Asia, and one of my favorites: I’ll See You When I See You, and I Hope This Will Be, Won’t Be Soon… by Pie Are Squared. In fact I like that song so much, that I’ll link it here as well: http://piearesquared.bandcamp.com/track/ill-see-you-when-i-see-you-and-i-hope-this-will-be-wont-be-soon

Written by Kish

March 24, 2013 at 10:03 pm

Leave a Reply

